Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

UNESCO Lecture Series – Suppliers, consumers, and the global minerals supply chain

March 2 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.

The UNESCO, in collaboration with IUGS and iCRAG, is organising a series of virtual lectures entitled “Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society”. The International Raw Materials Observatory is supporting this event as a media partner.

The lectures take place between Tuesday, January 26, 2021 and Thursday, April 1, 2021.

Session: Suppliers, consumers, and the global minerals supply chain – 2 March 2021

Start time: 02.00 (Vancouver) * 05.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 10.00 (London) * 11.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 12.00 (Johannesburg) * 13.00 (Nairobi) * 15.30 (Mumbai) * 16.00 (Dhaka) * 18.00 (Beijing) * 19.00 (Tokyo) * 21.00 (Sydney)

Speakers

  • Dr Kathryn Moore, Senior Lecturer in Critical and Green Technology Metals, University of Exeter, UK.
  • Dr Judy Muthuri, Associate Professor of Corporate Social Responsibility, Nottingham University Business School, UK, and Project Lead, Sustainable Artisanal and Small-scale Mining Project (Kenya).

Technical, environmental, business, and social aspects of different scales of mining operations; links between consumers and source

  • How supply chains work from source to use
  • Differentiating large-scale, high-tech small-scale, and artisanal mining sectors
  • Processing, refining, manufacturing sectors
  • Stakeholders, responsible sourcing programmes, and their impacts

Details

Date:
March 2
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Website:
https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures