Loading Events

« All Events

UNESCO Lecture Series – Earth materials and a sustainable future

March 9 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.

The UNESCO, in collaboration with IUGS and iCRAG, is organising a series of virtual lectures entitled “Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society”. The International Raw Materials Observatory is supporting this event as a media partner.

The lectures take place between Tuesday, January 26, 2021 and Thursday, April 1, 2021.

Session: Earth materials and a sustainable future – 9 March 2021

Start time: 04.00 (Vancouver) * 07.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 12.00 (London) * 13.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 14.00 (Johannesburg) * 15.00 (Nairobi) * 17.30 (Mumbai) * 18.00 (Dhaka) * 20.00 (Beijing) * 21.00 (Tokyo) * 23.00 (Sydney)

Speakers

  • Prof. Murray Hitzman, Director, iCRAG, Dublin, Ireland. Prof. Hitzman directs the Irish Centre for Research in Applied Geosciences.
  • Ms Halleluya Naantu Ekandjo, PhD candidate at iCRAG, University College Dublin., where she is studying the Rosh Pinah zinc-lead deposit in Namibia.

A reliable, affordable, and just supply of earth materials can be the foundation for a sustainable future and young professionals are the key to that future.

  • Earth materials and the UN Sustainable Development Goals
  • Technical, workforce, and social challenges must be addressed at all scales in both developing and developed countries
  • A vision for the future

Closing remarks by UNESCO representative.

Details

Date:
March 9
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Website:
https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures