Loading Events

« All Events

UNESCO Lecture Series – Earth materials: the foundation for development

January 26

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.

The UNESCO, in collaboration with IUGS and iCRAG, is organising a series of virtual lectures entitled “Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society”. The International Raw Materials Observatory is supporting this event as a media partner.

The lectures take place between Tuesday, January 26, 2021 and Thursday, April 1, 2021.

Session: Earth materials: the foundation for development – Jan 26, 2021

Start time: 05.00 (Vancouver) * 08.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 13.00 (London) * 14.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 15.00 (Johannesburg) * 16.00 (Nairobi) * 18.30 (Mumbai) * 19.00 (Dhaka) * 21.00 (Beijing) * 22.00 (Tokyo) * 00.00+1 (Sydney).

Introductory remarks from Dr. Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO, and Dr. John Ludden CBE, Bicentennial Research Professor, Environmental Governance and Diplomacy, Heriot-Watt University, UK.

Speakers

  • Dr Larry Meinert, Meinert Consulting LLC, Delaware, USA.
  • Dr Nellie Mutemeri, Mining Practice Lead, Mutemeri Consulting and Associate Professor, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa.

Review of historical and present-day mineral demand and its connections to the economy and technology

  • Historical context globally – why Earth materials are important
  • Technological evolution and climate neutrality are creating demand for new mineral portfolios
  • Mineral wealth and the SDGs, including wealth and social justice

 

More information: https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures

Details

Date:
January 26
Website:
https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures