Loading Events

« All Events

UNESCO Lecture Series – Climate neutrality, the circular economy, and earth materials

February 2 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Minerals and other Earth materials are a key component in the development of a sustainable global society, providing essential raw materials for technologies and economic growth while respecting the natural world.

The UNESCO, in collaboration with IUGS and iCRAG, is organising a series of virtual lectures entitled “Earth Materials for a Sustainable and Thriving Society”. The International Raw Materials Observatory is supporting this event as a media partner.

The lectures take place between Tuesday, January 26, 2021 and Thursday, April 1, 2021.

Session: Climate neutrality, the circular economy, and earth materials – Feb 2, 2021

Start time: 07.00 (Vancouver) * 10.00 (Toronto, Lima) * 15.00 (London) * 16.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 17.00 (Johannesburg) * 18.00 (Nairobi) * 20.30 (Mumbai) * 21.00 (Dhaka) * 23.00 (Beijing) * 00.00+1 (Tokyo) * 02.00+1 (Sydney)

Speakers

  • Prof. John Thompson, PetraScience Consultants, Vancouver, Canada and Honorary Professor of Sustainable Resources, University of Bristol, UK.
  • Prof. Frances Wall, Professor of Applied Mineralogy, University of Exeter, UK.

Reimagining metal supply to meet demand and societal expectations

  • Current and emerging demand drivers
  • Circular economy – importance and challenges
  • Moving to efficient and responsible primary extraction
  • Joining up the value chain

 

More information: https://bit.ly/UNESCOLectures

Details

Date:
February 2
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm